Day 17 –

The girl on the right, Ella, was my partner. (I had another one but she didn’t want to talk to me much hahaha.) Ella didn’t talk much, but she liked to hug and hold hands and basically just touch people a lot, but I really really can’t take it when strangers touch me. It made me think, why does this child need to be touched so much? What kind of life did she lead where she doesn’t want to answer your questions, she just wants you to hug her? These thoughts made it easier to get out of my head and just think of her needs.

Before we left, I was sitting in the jeep and she was standing outside, not letting go of my hand up until the moment we drove away. I made her promise me that she’d get to college.

Leave a Reply

