Trailer Tuesdays

I love trailers! I am of the firm belief that it is mostly up to the makers of these trailers to be able to determine how many people will actually see a movie on its opening week. A weak trailer means a weak opening, I say! So on we go to my first ever Trailer Tuesdays*! (Formerly Trailer Fridays over at my LJ, but I find that the alliteration is actually appealing.)

Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga ‘Hoole, September 24, 2010

I have made a pact (after watching Crappy Clash Of The Titans) that the only films I will watch in 3D are animated films that are actually made to look good in 3D. And not some crappy movie about a “clash” that never actually clashed. And this movie would definitely be it. I’d advise that you watch this with family or close friends that still appreciate the feeling of wonder.

Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps, September 24, 2010

This movie is actually informally called “Wallstreet 2” because it is in fact a sequel to another movie called “Wall Street” that was released in 1987. I’m really excited to watch this because I don’t think I’ve watched a Michael Douglas film in a long time. Plus, I really think Shia LeBouf is one celebrity to look out for. Not because he’s cute, but he seems to dead set on being taken seriously as an actor, and I admire that. Especially for someone being given the boy toy awards by so many tweens, teeny boppers and twenty-somethings all at the same time. Watch this with guy friends and/or any other friends that are fascinated by con movies and/or money. And Wall Street, duh.

The Switch, already released.

Because it has Jennifer Aniston in it!!!! And I love Jeff Goldblum! Who is not dead, apparently. Hahaha. Also, Jason Bateman kind of gets on my nerves, so since this movies seems to have a good thing going for it, I want to watch it and see if he still gets on my nerves then. Maybe Jen’s presence will make him more likable. But anyway, I haven’t liked much of Jen’s projects since FRIENDS went out, but this one looks like it’s going to be good. Although, her story with Ben Stiller’s was the only one that I actually like in He’s Just Not That Into You. I’m a big fan of Rom-coms but not of those Ben Stiller types where eeeeverything has to go wrong before something right happens. Because really, those are getting ooooold. So yeah, I’m really looking forward to this one. Watch with your girlfriends, or hell, force your boyfriend to watch it with you! Def. a date movie.

Stone, October 8, 2010

The cast features Rober de Niro, who always delivers a classic performance, Edward Norton and Mila Jovovich. Watching the trailer, it seems like Mila Jovovich’s character is very different from the strong women that she’s become very typecast to play most of her career, so I want to see what that’s going to be like. Also, I love Edward Norton as a bad guy. Seriously, no other guy with a cute face like that can pull it off as well as Norton can. Watch with your barkada.

Buried, September 24, 2010

I don’t know if this has anything to do with the movies Buried Alive and Buried Alive 2 that was released in the 90s. Reading the synopsis I don’t think it does, but anyway, I wanna watch it because it’s Ryan Reynolds in a serious role and I always like watching those, and also I’ve had a fascination with being buried alive ever since I was a kid and I got obsessed with the movies of the same name. Could be a good date movie.

Paper Man, already released

I know this movie was released in 2009, but I don’t remember ever hearing about it. Either way, it looks really interesting, so I need to grab me a DVD of this one. It stars Jeff Bridges, whom I love, and a blonde and superhero-clad Ryan Reynolds, Lisa Kudrow (!!!) and Emma Stone, the girl from House Bunny as well as Zombieland. Looks nice. Watch with your mom or with a girl friend.

Easy A, September 17, 2010

Another Emma Stone movie, but the cast actually looks really interesting. There’s Stanley Tucci, Lisa Kudrow, Amanda Bynes (isn’t she supposed to be “retired”?) Penn Badgley (Dan Humphrey from Gossip Girl), and Dan Byrd (now more known for being Travis Cobb in Cougar Town.) I’m definitely going to watch this, just because it totally made Poker Face work (I hate Lady Gaga) and because the cast looks awesome. Watch with your barkada or your girlfriends.

The Company Men, October 22, 2010

Four Academy Award winners in one movie? Some would say that’s a formula for a sad flop, but I’m personally excited to see this one. I’ve never been a fan of getting a job and living your life according to a paycheck, but here I am doing it because as it turns out it costs money to follow your dreams. So there. Baka maiyak ako sa movie na ‘to. Hahaha. Watch with your family or with your boyfriend/girlfriend.

The Town, September 10, 2010

Another interesting one from Ben Affleck, considering he had been having such a bad run the last few years. I’m interested to see Blake Likely (Serena Van der Woodsen in Gossip Girl) in a serious role, seeing as the only other movie I’ve seen her in is Sisterhood Of The Traveling Pants, and she doesn’t impress me in GG. Mad Men’s Jon Hamm as well as Jeremy Renner (whom I totally crush ever since I first watched him in S.W.A.T.) are in it as well. Watch with your guy friend(s) or girls who like action movies.

So I guess that’s it for this first edition of Trailer Tuesdays (even though it is now technically Wednesday.) Happy watching!

—–

* Trailer Tuesdays is my edition of trailers of movies that are about to be released (and at times, have already been released) that I feel is going to be worth watching. Or at least, are movies that I will be making a point to watch.

Leave a Reply

