Sunday Thoughts: Photography and faraway friends

Sunset over Lower Manhattan, New York City
Image by andrew mace— via Flickr

I’ve pretty much made up my mind that I would like to pursue photography as a career. I know that these days it seems like everyone is a photographer, but like all fads I know that this will pass, and the novelty of owning a DSLR will wear off, and eventually people will move on to some other field that they will dare identify themselves with and subsequently annoy the legitimate people in that field as well. But I digress.

The thing is, you don’t really need to formally study photography to learn it. Sure you might need someone to teach you the basic technical stuff, but it is very easy to find tutorials and manuals online. But the thing is, I feel like I’ve pretty much learned all that I can by myself. I took a formal class in school as an elective as a start, and have been taking photos for gigs, events and sometimes studio stuff since 2007. I have even experimented with certain things that I’ve learned from forums and online workshops (yes, I geek out on photography online workshops.) But these days, I feel like I’m starting to stagnate, and that’s a feeling I’ve never been able to live with for even just a moment. So you can imagine my frustration.

A MFA in photography sounds wonderful, but in my situation, I don’t really need it. So right now my goal is to find a workshop abroad, preferably in New York or London (che ang taray!) that I can enroll in, and maybe this will eventually lead to my finding work in those places. Which would be, for lack of a better term, awesome. I know that this opportunity is not going to come tomorrow, or next week, or maybe even in the next couple of months. But I do know that I will continue to look for it as long as I still have hope running through my bones.

Reggie, Jena and me

This is me with Reggie and Jena. I’ve known Jena since we were in 3rd grade, and I met Reggie in High School when she moved to the Philippines from Australia. I lived in Katipunan for about two years so you can imagine that I’ve built myself a life in the North. Now that I live in the south again, I’d gotten so used to just ringing either Reg or Jena whenever I was looking for something to do that now that Reggie is in the States and Jena is in Germany, I miss them both terribly and feel quite lonely in the South sometimes. I can’t wait until they get back.

Anyway, I’m feeling more like myself again today. Thank you for those that expressed concern. The perkyness will ensue in 1-2 days. Enjoy the rest of your Sunday, everyone!

3 thoughts on “Sunday Thoughts: Photography and faraway friends

  1. I love this blog nikki. I believe you will make it happen, you will be in New york anytime soon. Now i am here in Germany, i see endless possibilities, God is amazing where he place us. Believe in it and claim it. I cant wait to see your gallery or exhibits in New york (taray!) haha! i hope we get to travel the world together.. i miss you and im glad you want to pursue photography. I love this photo by the way.

  2. Halooo Nikki! I love this blog. I believe you are going to make it to New York. Now i am here in Germany I believe in endless possibilities, just claim and pray for it. It is amazing where God is placing us, especially our batch. We are everywhere, i know that we are meant for amazing things. And i cant wait to see your exhibits, i am happy that you want to pursue photography as you are great with it! i miss you and it’s cold here now.

    • Awww thanks Jena! I miss you super and I do believe that we’re all going to be doing awesome things.

Leave a Reply

