This played on the radio as I rode in the passenger seat with the windows down on a lovely, windy late afternoon. We turned it up and started dancing like idiots, as we usually do. Only this time, I looked at him and knew in my heart of hearts that whatever it is that our weird relationship was or is, it’s nothing more than friendship now. The time of questioning it has ended, no matter what he or I have said in the past. I’m glad that it was a hopeful song that made me see that. It makes me think that this isn’t me losing something, but me finding out what I had all along.

I turn the music up, I got my records on / From underneath the rubble sing a rebel song / Don’t want to see another generation drop / I’d rather be a comma than a full stop

Leave a Reply

