The One Where I Lose My Mind

I’m a planner. I can’t help it. When I was 13, I had the next ten years of my life planned out. Well, it’s been almost 11 years since then and nothing, and I mean nothing, that I had planned then has come into fruition.

But that’s okay. I didn’t really know what I wanted back then, anyway. Who does at thirteen, right?

But the thing is, I’m not where I thought I would be five years ago, either. Or one year. Or six months ago. I’m in a place in my life where I didn’t even consider I would be a mere two years after graduating.

Maybe it’s that we put too much pressure on ourselves. It happens, I’m not the first 23 year-old to think that she was gonna be doing big things by now. We sometimes have to remind ourselves that those people who’d built empires by the time they were our age are more the exception than the rule. It’s not cynicism, it’s more acceptance that you’re not one of those people who are destined to be shakers and movers in their early 20s. Doesn’t mean you’re never going to be, but maybe I should stop kicking myself and thinking so-and-so would have done things differently and they wouldn’t be angry-blogging on freakin’ Tumblr at 2 in the morning.

I think I’ve lost my point somewhere.

I have a job interview tomorrow. I’m scared. I’m starting to think that I’m unemployable. Forgive the brain fart. Enjoy the photo.

Leave a Reply

